Cooking With Tea, Oh My Pie!

gunpowdertwinings

The other day I talked about Gunpowder Green Tea. Well, I had made a pretty large pot that morning and had about 2 cups still nice and warm. At about the same time I wanted something sweet, like Pie! I love pie…Just thinking about pie makes my mouth water.

Unfortunately for me, I don’t eat flour or sugar so my longing for pie was going to seriously affect my day. Lots of foot stomping and really deep sighing was going on in the kitchen. And then I saw the last of the apples sitting on the counter and the most wonderful thing happened. I had an idea!!

I sliced up the apples along with one large sweet potato and threw them in a cast iron skillet and dumped a cup and a half of the Gunpowder Green Tea in with them along with cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg ( the holy trinity of apple pie ingredients ) and covered it all with a lid and let it reduce down until all of the liquid was gone. The result?  The best thing I’ve had in my mouth in a long time. Flavor explosions! And no sugar, flour or any of the bad things that my mouth wants so badly, but my stomach says, Not down here you don’t! There is really no recipe, I just tasted and added spices as needed.

I was so impressed with myself ( you know my history with burning food ) that I grabbed one of my Laura Child’s Teashop Mysteries and found 2 recipes that I tried and they both turned out great!

Green Beans with Garlic and Tea

Ingredients

1 lb fresh green beans, trimmed
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp. canola oil
2 Tbsp. keemum tea leaves* brewed in 2 cups of spring water
Toasted almond slices

Directions

1. Steam green beans water.
2. While beans are steaming, saute minced garlic in canola oil until opaque.
3. Add brewed tea and simmer with garlic for 2 minutes.
4. Remove beans from steamer and put in large bowl.
5. Pour tea marinade over drained beans
6. Garnish with toasted almond slices.Since we serve them nearly every night, my siblings and I have been ...

Tea-Marinated Prawns

Ingredients

2 Tbsp. Lapsang Souchong tea*
2 cups water
1 Tbsp. lemon juice
1 lb. shrimp or prawns

Directions

1. Steep tea in boiling water to desired strength, then strain.
2. Cool tea to room temperature.
3. Marinate shrimp (or prawns) in tea for at least 30 minutes,
4. Grill or stir-fry until done.

Marinated Shrimp with Capers and Dill
Teas
*Keemum tea leaves, black ‘top of the line’ aromatic Chinese tea. It has a subtle sweetness.
*Lapsang Souchong tea,rich flavored tea black smoky flavored tea from southern China.

Hints
*Serve Tea-Marinated Prawns/Shrimp and Green Beans with Garlic and Tea with fluffy white rice or Soba noodles.
*Soba noodles are native Japanese and made from buckwheat flour (soba-ko) and wheat flour (komugi-ko). They are generally as thick as spaghetti, and prepared in various hot and cold dishes. The most basic soba dish is zaru soba in which boiled as other pastas are. Soba noodles can be bought at supermarkets in the noodle section or sometimes in the ‘Ethnic Foods’ section.

Shades of Earl GreyFind tons of great recipes in Laura’s books!

Today I’m smoking chicken breast with Lapsang Souchong leaves for a friend. Will let you know how it turns out!

3 thoughts on “Cooking With Tea, Oh My Pie!

Leave a Reply

