The Tea Planter’s Daughter (The India Tea Series Book 1) by Janet MacLeod Trotter

From India to Britain, from 1904 to 1920, comes the story of the Bellhaven girls. When we first meet them, their half Indian mother has died. Their English father is so distraught with grief that the family Tea Garden is going under quickly and Jock Bellhaven has retreated to his alcohol and opium induced stupor, leaving his eldest daughter, Clarissa, to handle the house and her younger sister, Olive, a young, frail girl who seems a bit whiny at times. The Bellhaven and Robson rivalry may or may not be what it seems to be, but Clarissa is determined to do everything in her power to hold on to their home and tea.

However, when Jock dies suddenly, the girls are forced to sell their home and leave India to travel to England where their cousin Jared and his wife own a pub.

From the mountains of Assam to the industrial streets of Newcastle, is a big change for the girls and they learn quickly that they will have to work harder than the ever dreamed, just to survive. But Clarissa is determined to see her dreams come true. And she will do whatever it takes to protect Olive and secure their future. But with death and war looming in the near future, will they survive?

This is the first book in a Trilogy. The other two books are The Teal Planter’s Bride and Girl from the Tea Garden.

There was quite a bit of detail about the tea trade in the early 1900’s. And not all of it was pretty. The conditions were brutal and some owners were cruel. We see how the war affected Britain, as well as the tea trade.

I read this because of the title obviously, and I am really glad I did. This is a story of courage and hope. Of family and sacrifice. Of love and faith.I enjoyed it very much.

About the Author

Janet MacLeod Trotter is the author of numerous bestselling and acclaimed novels, including The Hungry Hills, which was nominated for the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award, and The Tea Planter’s Daughter, which was nominated for the Romantic Novelists’ Association Novel of the Year Award. Much informed by her own experiences, Macleod Trotter was raised in the north-east of England by Scottish parents and travelled in India as a young woman. She recently discovered diaries and letters belonging to her grandparents, who married in Lahore and lived and worked in the Punjab for nearly thirty years, which served as her inspiration for the India Tea Series. She now divides her time between Northumberland and the Isle of Skye. Find out more about the author and her novels at

I received a free copy of this book through Netgalley and Lake Union Publishing. This version will be available in June of 2016.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s