A Birthday Tale of Two Births

barbaraann  Today is my Mother’s Birthday. Happy Birthday Momma!

She is off to the city with my sister Susi today for a girls fun day. Hopefully there will be some fun drinks to go with the cake. Today is really special because her first grandchild was born on her birthday. My son, Brad. Which makes him “special”. If this was a Game of Thrones life, he would be King of the 7 Kingdoms. Of course my Momma loves all of her grandchildren, but there is something special about having your first as a birthday gift!

So I decided I would share my favorite story with y’all about one of our adventures that my sister Mary Jane and I had when we were at Momma and Daddy’s house. You will see what I mean about how funny she is. Happy Birthday Momma!

Momma and the China

The last time we were at Momma’s house, I was putting a cup in the dishwasher and noticed there was a Chinet, styrofoam paper plate in there. ” Momma,” I said, ” Why is there a paper plate in the dishwasher?” ” That’s our china,” said Momma. “Huh?”, I say. ” Well, it’s perfectly good and they wash up just fine, so there is no sense throwing it away.” Again, I say, “Huh?” I check up in the cupboard and sure enough there is a tidy little stack of “china” right on top of the regular stoneware dishes. Now I thought the draw of a paper plate was that you can toss that sucker in the trash, thereby saving yourself the trouble of washing, drying and putting it away. Doesn’t that just defeat the purpose? What is the point of buying them then? That was one of those times when I realized that my Momma is getting funnier the older she gets. Things she would never, ever, in a million years allow in her home, are now just perfectly acceptable. Like the M & M situation. I was talking to Vicki on the phone and had to sidestep some M & M’s on the bedroom floor. ” Hold on, I say, there are M & M’s all over the floor from Baleigh”. “Oh Lord, says Vicki, I bet that’s driving Momma nuts”. ” Actually, I say, it was her idea.” So I am thinking the older you get the less things bother you. Why bother keeping up appearances now? Who gives a rat’s hiney if there is candy on the bedroom floor when the only person seeing the bedroom is you?! Maybe we shouldn’t have children until we are in our 50’s or such. By that time you pretty much know that a dirty house is NOT the worst thing that can happen. Nope, not even close. And she also knows way more than I do about current pop stars. Here we sat watching the Grammy’s or some show like that. I ask her ” Who is that group singing?” ” Oh, I don’t know, she says, I don’t listen to country music.” ” What??!!”, I say. I am shocked as shit, cause growing up the Grand Ol’ Opry was on the radio every Saturday and I swear my Momma looked just like Tammy Wynette! This next part just blew me right out of the water. ” Oh, look, she says, there’s JayZ and Beyonce'” I don’t think I know this person at all! Is this what cable has done to us? Why in the world does my Momma know who JayZ is? It must be all this American Idol mess. No matter, she is way up on current events! You go Momma!

2 thoughts on “A Birthday Tale of Two Births

Leave a Reply

