The Tea Planter’s Bride (India Tea Series Book 2)


The Tea Planter's Bride (The India Tea Series Book 2)

The second book in The India Tea Series gives us more of the delightful characters from the first book as well as introducing some new characters. From India to Britain and back to India again, it is a story of strong and determined women dealing with some extremely difficult situations

Sophie Logan’s last memory of her home in India and her mother happens when she is just six years old. It is her birthday and instead of the party she hoped for, odd things are happening inside and outside. When her mother tells her to go hide, she does. When she is finally found the next day, it is only to find her parents are dead, supposedly of the fever, and Sophie is being shipped to Edinburgh to live with her mother’s sister, Amy. Another strong, independent woman.

In the year 1922, Sophie is of age and living a fine life. Working, riding her motorcycle and dancing whenever she can. And maybe even falling in love.

The Robson and the Bellhaven families are back as well. When Sophie’s cousin, Tilly marries and prepares to leave for India to live as a tea planter’s wife, she is nervous, scared and then thrilled to hear she may have a travelling companion after all!

As they begin their adventure to India, they not only have to cope with a wild climate, but mysteries, murder and secrets.

Will Sophie make the same mistakes her mother did? Will she find love?

Set against the backdrop of India during a time of political upheaval and class systems, this was the perfect second book. Everything meshed so well. Now we just have to wait for the third book!

I received this book from Netgalley and Lake Union Publishing in exchange for an honest review. The release date is set for June 21, 2016.


British author Janet MacLeod Trotter has had 20 novels published, 13 of them historical family sagas set in the 20th Century. Her first, THE HUNGRY HILLS, was nominated for the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award, while THE TEA PLANTER’S DAUGHTER (the first in the INDIA TEA SERIES set in Britain and India) was long-listed for the RNA Romantic Novel of the Year and was an Amazon top ten best seller. It has gone on to be a best-seller in Russian and French too.

She has written for teenagers and numerous short stories for women’s magazines, some of which are published in an ebook anthology ICE CREAM SUMMER. She has been a columnist and reviewer for The Newcastle Journal and editor of The Clan MacLeod Magazine. Her childhood memoirs of Durham and Skye in the 1960’s, BEATLES & CHIEFS, was featured on BBC Radio 4’s Home Truths.

Janet’s second novel in THE INDIA TEA SERIES, THE TEA PLANTER’S BRIDE (sequel to THE TEA PLANTER’S DAUGHTER) is set in 1920’s Scotland, North East England and India. It was inspired by diaries and letters that recently came to light, belonging to Janet’s grandparents who married in Lahore and lived and worked in the Punjab for nearly 30 years.

The third novel in the series, GIRL FROM THE TEA GARDEN, will be published at the end of 2016.

She is a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association.

Find out more about Janet and her novels at

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s