Putting Things Into Perspective

Today we’re having a nice cup of Twinings English Breakfast Tea. Grab a cup!

Image result for cup of tea

It’s been a bit since I wrote anything on here. I’ve been busy dealing with this lovely corneal ulcer that has left me blind in one eye. And since they will not let me put a contact in the good ( and I use that term very loosely) eye, I’m mainly walking around squinting with a patch on one eye. But that entire story is over on piratepatty.wordpress.com.

So it’s been 4 weeks. I was getting to that self-pity stage which is a dangerous route to take. I was quoting Bible passages about Job and just getting on my own nerves. People were beginning to irritate the heck out of me for no reason whatsoever!

Ah, but the Universe in all it’s wisdom had a plan. Here’s how that went.

Thursday night OU Boy told me his left arm was hurting and had been for a few days. Now that boy has already had 2 major heart attacks, bypass surgery and several stints. That was 4 years ago when he was only 32.  So Friday I received a call that he was on his way by ambulance from work to the Heart Hospital.

I got there just as he was being taken to surgery. No, I didn’t drive. I have a guy for that. The nice nurses led me to a spot I could wait alone. The Doctor said he wasn’t sure if OU Boy would make it off the table

Bam! Talk about putting things into Perspective! Here I had been whining about losing my eyesight in ONE eye and now the man I have loved for 13 years could be dying. After a long wait, a lovely nurse came and took me to a tiny office and told me to wait here,the doctor needs to speak with you. By now I am in full panic mode, as the last time I was taken to a small room the news was not good. Finally the good Doctor McGeary came in and laid it all out. OU Boy had had the famous Widowmaker heart attack and had been about 5 minutes from joining the Sooner team in heaven. He was straight forward in explaining everything and took me upstairs to see my love.

Thankfully the surgery went extremely well and he is now home resting but feeling much better now that he has some blood flow to his heart. Yep, I’m going to marry that boy!

We have surely had our share of health issues lately, I am pretty sure that my crazy sister has a voo doo doll of some sort that she is stabbing regularly. Maybe once in awhile  she could scratch my upper back for me.

So thank all of you for your prayers, good thoughts, love and caring. We appreciate it more than I can say.

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Putting Things Into Perspective

  1. itsworthediting says:

    Well, your post about whining has dwindled down to me, too. I was whining about my conditions and circumstances and having a pity party. This post made me see that it can always be worse. My prayer is that God will keep you both in His love and care. Thanks for liking my posts on Jonathan’s Way. I’m going to have a cup of tea in a bit and enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

