Mrs. Rowe’s little book of Southern Pies by Mollie Cox Bryan

 

Image result for mrs rowe's little book of southern pies

What goes better with Tea than Pie?  I have a confession to make. I love pie. Just saying the word brings a smile to my face.

I have had this book for a few years now and only recently noticed that it was done by Mollie Cox Bryan, author of some of my favorite cozy mysteries.

This book contains recipes from Virginia’s Queen of Pies, Mrs.Rowe. Reading her story and how she became known as The Pie Lady was very interesting, and her wonderful pie recipes are so simple and delicious your mouth will be watering

Uh-huh, looks yummy doesn’t it. Since peaches are abundant this time of year, we made the Peach PieThe Perfect Peach Pie... The flavor of the fresh peaches is up front and delicious, the pie isn’t overly sweet which allows the peach flavor and natural sweetness to come shining through. This is indeed The Perfect Peach Pie!:

But there are so many good recipes in here! One of my other favorites is Sour Cream Raisin  which I always got when we visited my Uncle Floyd and he would always take us to Charlie’s.  OU Boy’s favorite is the Classic Banana Cream Pie. 

Banana Meringue Pie - my husband's favorite dessert.  Just baked it for him, hoping we get some "honey-do" jobs done this weekend!  http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/Banana-Meringue-Pie:   Sour Cream Raisin Pie recipe from The Farmer's Kitchen in Atlantic, Iowa:

I add meringue to my sour cream raisin pie because that is how I first ate it. The meringue recipe in the book is fantastic, as is the vinegar crust.

I would definitely recommend this book to any and all  pie lovers! So today when you have some time, enjoy a slice of pie with your Tea! I am also reading her newest book, Death Among the Doilies. You can check it out on Amazon http://goo.gl/ObbZxe

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Mollie Cox Bryan is the author of the Agatha-award nominated Cumberland Creek Mysteries. This year, she’s launching a new series: Cora Crafts Mysteries. The first book is DEATH AMONG THE DOILIES out in August 2016. She also penned MRS. ROWE’S LITTLE BOOK OF SOUTHERN PIES and MRS. ROWE’S RESTAURANT COOKBOOK; A LIFETIME OF RECIPES FROM THE SHENANDOAH VALLEY . She also is the author of a Kindle book HONEY, I’M SORRY I KILLED YOUR AQUASAURS (AND OTHER SHORT ESSAYS ON THE PARENTING LIFE.)

 

 

4 thoughts on “Mrs. Rowe’s little book of Southern Pies by Mollie Cox Bryan

  1. Roos Ruse says:

    Mercy! I gained weight just reading this. Fresh peach pie – oh my! Did you ever see the movie Michael with John Travolta where Andie MacDowell sings her song about pie? Love that and think of it often. Among other scenes 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

