Sweet Potato Scones and A Nice Assam

I had planned on giving you a good review of a nice cozy mystery today, but finishing the book almost made me want to strangle someone, so instead let’s just grab a cup of Assam and have some sweet potato scones together.

Everyone enjoying this gorgeous Fall weather? Along with Pumpkin Spice lattes from Starbucks, my favorite thing about Fall is the root vegetables and sweet potatoes that are available!

Today I am having a nice pot of Assam, which I bought at the San Francisco Herb Company.  It’s smoky and reminds me of campfires and it is going pretty well with these Sweet Potato Scones.

SWEET POTATO SCONES

1 CUP OF ALL PURPOSE FLOUR

1/2 TSP. SALT

2 TSPS. BAKING POWDER

1 TSP SUGAR

1 CUP COOKED AND MASHED SWEET POTATOES

3 TBSP. MELTED BUTTER

1 OR 2 TBSP. MILK

Sift the flour, salt, baking powder into your bowl and then add the sugar. In a separate bowl, mix the sweet potatoes and 2 Tbsp. butter. Add dry ingredients and mix well forming a soft dough, adding milk as necessary.  Roll out and use a round cookie cutter or biscuit cutter to cut out scones then place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Brush tops with remaining melted butter. Bake at 375 degrees for 20 to 25 minutes.

Enjoy a taste of Fall!  What is your favorite Fall Tea or Food?    xxP

13 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Scones and A Nice Assam

  1. C. J. Hartwell says:

    There’s a seasonal tea from Celestial Seasonings called Nutcracker Sweet — just one whiff of it puts me in a fall/winter frame of mind. Unfortunately I have to order it online, as I can’t find a store that carries it anymore.
    The scones sound wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Roos Ruse says:

    Christi jumped in ahead of me with one of my fall faves, Nutcracker Sweet. Once I locate some cardamom I’ll make a herbal brew that’s similar to Bengal Spice. Of course I like mine better. 😉 Can hardly wait to try out the scones recipe. Thought I was ready to have at it but my one sweet potato sprouted some beautiful purple stems. I couldn’t bear to cut it up. Grocery run first thing tomorrow! I started J.R. Ripley’s Buried in Beignets this morning only just set it down to check in. She’s fun and unpredictable.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. survivingbutterfly says:

    That was hilarious! The book was that good that it brought you to want to strangle someone! That has to be a great book😃! Those scones are a must try👍. I have a love for sweet potatoe, but I feel the most festive having pumpkin flavor this time of year. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

