Christmas In Dixie

southernchristmas    I promised that this week I would try and honor my Southern roots and my favorite Christmas foods. While the luscious treats you saw on the Norwegian side were foods we only had at Christmas, in the South, certain desserts show up at Christmas, Funerals, and other holidays.

To be perfectly honest with you all, growing up we were not allowed in the kitchen. Our cook,  Grace, would have let us help all we wanted, but my Mother told us we could wait until we got our own kitchens to make a mess. So we learned to cook the hard way, or at least heat up stuff.

After years of begging for recipes, she finally broke down and sent them to me. Unfortunately I am only allowed to share a few, because really everyone knows how to make some of them.

First up, The Coconut Cake. Front and Center. I love this so much I made it for my own wedding cake once!

Then of course there are the Pound Cakes. Cream Cheese Pound Cake, Sour Cream Pound Cake and any other combination you can think of. My favorites are Momma’s Nut Pound Cake and her Sour Cream Pound Cake.

Next up….Divinity. 

And one of my favorites….again…Martha Washington Balls!

And we can’t forget the Pralines!   These are super easy to make!

southernchristmas9

And to snack on while we wait for the wine to kick in…Spiced Pecans!

southernchristmas10

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 pound large pecan halves

Directions

  • 1. In a small bowl, combine the sugar, cinnamon and salt; set aside. In a large bowl, lightly beat egg white. Add pecans; stir until coated. Sprinkle with sugar mixture; mix well.
  • 2. Spread in a single layer on a baking sheet. Bake at 300° for 20 minutes. Remove nuts from baking sheet to cool on waxed paper. Yield: about 6 cups.

So there we have some of my favorite Southern Christmas Desserts!

14 thoughts on “Christmas In Dixie

  1. Anne Mehrling says:

    My mother (West Tennessee) always made a dark fruitcake thick with candied fruit. That was what Christmas tasted like to me. After living in England, we now have my husband’s favorite, a steamed Christmas pudding. I eat only a bite or so of it when it’s hot, but I help myself to it after Christmas when it’s cold. That’s when it tastes like my mom’s fruitcake.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

