There is an art to being lazy…

bfd1a11331f57d66101f4eaea64434bc

The word Lazy has never been used in the same sentence with my name. It wasn’t until after my husband died in his thirties that I learned about being lazy, in a good way. I was having sciatica, sinus infections, and just in general I was working myself to death. So I learned how to be lazy!

Then I taught OU Boy and he took to it like most guys do. I’m the person who is reading a book during the movie. Unable to do just one thing at a time. Which is also why I only have 1 pot left. I burn food because I’m painting, or writing or reading and not paying attention to the shenanigans going on in the kitchen.

I always felt guilty doing nothing. My grandmother would say “You can rest when you’re dead.” And boy did I take that to heart. So today I am being Lazy. It is noon here and  am still in my bathrobe.

I also wanted to tell you about this Harney & Sons Chocolate Tea! Image result for harney and sons chocolate tea sachets

The smell is so lush and I love their sweet little silk sachets. It has gotten me through some not so happy times lately and if you find this one, keep it! It is really luscious.

Have a lazy Sunday if you can and enjoy a good cuppa!

xx Patricia

24 thoughts on “There is an art to being lazy…

  1. Peaceful Journey says:

    I can relate to the art of being lazy. It is simply taking time out to attend to one’s mental health and well-being. There’s no harm in that and can be quite therapeutic if you learn the art. IF you fail to learn the difference, then laziness is not beneficial at all. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pelgris says:

    There is always more work, or rather, we can come up with something that ‘needs’ to be done. But we also need care and destress and comfort. It isn’t laziness to take time to enjoy your life for a time without having to actively doing something.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. C. J. Hartwell says:

    When I begin envying people who are sick because they can stay home, that’s when I know I’m working too hard and need to take a day off. Fortunately I have all of next week off. Yay! I plan on making the most of your wise words, as well as trying that tea. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Patricia says:

      You need a break! Enjoy it! It will be Spring Break here next week so I’ll be wrangling a 4 year old and a 6 year old who are constantly trying to kill each other with the goal of becoming an only child!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The Silent E says:

    I am becoming an expert in this area lately. I always in my parent you should rest and my dad says the same thing I’ll rest when I die. The line is never directed to me. ( but I have the same mentality but not feeling well right now I don’t I just want to be LAZY!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ever-Curious says:

    There’s a Spanish proverb I love: “How good it is to sit and do nothing, and afterwards have a little rest”. I love lazy Sunday afternoons when I can put this into practice! Other days I’m more like the Bruce Cockburn lyric “When you lay me in my coffin they better nail it tight”. I enjoyed your thoughtful post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

