Happy Saturday…let’s Chat…

404c4178a1e2f9d6bb2ccc1d92dd97f1

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the word love. And how loose we’ve become with that word. On Social Media especially. We like/love posts, pictures and friends work. We say Love you as we hang up the phone or say good bye. But by saying it so casually has it taken away the true meaning of it? I think it has. I am the worst about loving stuff on line.

Love has a meaning and shouldn’t be thrown around so casually. After having a long chat with the tub faucet this morning about this subject, I was wondering, how exactly do I know if I really Love something or someone?

I was reminded of a conversation a friend and I have had while watching a movie. Would you take a bullet for them? Me personally, there is only one person I would do that for. Would I be gutted if this person was not in my life? Yeah, again, just the one person. Would I grieve the loss of the relationship? Probably not. So yes, maybe I overuse the word. I like a lot of things, a lot of people and places.

I am going to try really hard to stop saying love when I mean something else. Instead of saying ‘I loved your photos!’, I could say ‘ Your photos made me smile! Thanks!’ I would also like to say thank you to Skipah (over  Here ) for letting me bend his ear and giving me his most valuable wisdom!

Have a Great Day!       xx  Patricia

 

23 thoughts on “Happy Saturday…let’s Chat…

  1. Rowena McGregor says:

    Totally agree. Lots of other words are being watered down as well. I wonder if it is because we are often hurried so don’t take the time to consider exactly what we mean before we communicate? I guess I could add to the joke post I wrote yesterday about minimum viable communication another definition: “5. any word will do.”
    Anyway, thanks for your post, I like being invited to think 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Garfield Hug says:

    Thanks for writing this. The word “love” is often over used without the real meaning of old fashioned love per se. Mr EX, owns a business and named his cafeteria for staff “love cafe” – told him over rated and that he did not give “love” to staff i.e no free coffee. All paid…anything ordered is paid. He is a wise crack. He deferred to phileo love. Aah well…that is his version. Ha ha!

    Like

  3. Julia says:

    I can say that I LOVE your photo. I’m with you on exact words to convey your truth. I feel like I grow in confidence when I use the exact word(s) to myself and to others. I sense the truth creates a cord, a positive connection to the person or myself.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

