Speak The Truth…Even If Your Voice Shakes

 :

It’s Friday for most of you but just Tuesday in my world. This morning I am sipping  chugging down multiple cups of tea with lemon and honey. With summer comes allergies and air conditioning. Both cause me misery. Thank goodness for Bigelow’s Lemon tea!

This week I had therapy per usual.  Normally he gives me enough forms to last a week and I fill one out each time I feel anxious or a panic attack. Writing where I was, what I was doing and how I dealt with it. Last week I only had one paper. And it was the day of my Eye surgeon appointment, so totally reasonable to feel anxious and scared. Then I told him about going out to several social occasions and that I was calm and in control the entire week. Without meds.

In his words, “That was very courageous of you. You were scared and anxious but you did it anyway.”

I had never thought of myself as courageous. I saved that for people who did big things like running into burning buildings. But when you have anxiety/depression sometimes just getting out of bed, brushing your teeth and getting dressed is courageous. Putting one foot in front of the other and moving forward sometimes takes Courage. 

It takes Courage to say out loud, “Hey, I’m not okay with this situation.”  It takes Courage to say, ” I suffer from PTSD and some days it sucks just to be!

Those are the times I jump on here and see how the rest of my people are handling their spoons for the day! And almost always I feel better. So thanks for that!

I hope your Friday is peaceful and that you find Courage!

xx IMG_20170422_080324_185  Patricia/WarriorPirate

31 thoughts on “Speak The Truth…Even If Your Voice Shakes

  1. Bionic Book Worm says:

    Awe I loved everything about this post. It’s definitely courageous to push past your fears and anxieties and do something anyway. Even if that feat is small, it’s still something you conquered! Thanks for sharing these moments with us!! ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  2. walkercynthia says:

    I truly believe that it takes far more courage to do the “little” things like function in the face of a mind that attempts to convince us that the world is coming to an end (because our imaginations can come up with the most horrific shit, far worse than any apocalyptic movie). Running into a burning building is an adrenaline fueled moment of insanity. My daddy was a firefighter, and he was a little bit crazy for running in when everyone else was running out. You are, indeed, courageous!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Stephanie says:

    I so loved your post! I’ve suffered from generalized anxiety disorder and panic attacks since I was 5, and it took me a long time to realize that when I was doing things I was terrified of (like just driving my car some days or every day I have to speak in front of a classroom of new students) that I was being brave and courageous. I used to think my anxiety and panic meant I was weak, powerless…just less somehow than every one around me; after all, no one else I knew stayed awake for hours at night worrying about mundane things or was so paralyzed with fear that they couldn’t go into a store, party, etc without a friend holding their hand or crying and breaking down in panic for unexplained reasons. I spent years feeling broken by my “diseases”. Now I know I am strong not weak, brave not a coward. It was a hard journey to get to that place of healing and knowledge, but I’m so much better for it! My daughter, who is 6, was just diagnosed with generalized anxiety disorder, and I’ve been telling her now how brave she is to face the things she is most afraid of… I don’t want her to spend decades of self hate and loathing as I did. I’m so thankful for your post! It made my day a little brighter! Stay brave and courageous! I admire you so much for sharing this piece of yourself! ❤❤

    Liked by 2 people

  4. 1 Renaissance Woman says:

    Patricia,
    As a fellow sufferer of PTSD (you don’t have to be in a war to get it–life and circumstances on earth can be hell enough) and a sufferer of anxiety/depression (much of that behind me now), I could relate to your story. I used to be in therapy and on medication for years, but I seemed to get nowhere. I did need to break some addictions, though. Today, my therapy is reading the Bible and trusting in Jesus. My husband is a believer also, and that helps. 1 Peter 5:7 states: “Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.” I still have bad days, but now I try to focus on God/Jesus on a daily basis and pray The Lord’s Prayer in the morning and at night before I go to sleep. It gives me great comfort. Having supportive friends and people who believe in God helps also. I pray healing for you, in Jesus’ name, Patricia.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

