Peaches, Cobblers and Mysteries!

Feeling all peachy this morning! So I’m going to share a recipe with you!

This is my Momma’s Peach Cobbler recipe, which if you are in the south may be your Momma’s recipe also. This is the only recipe I know by heart. And last night I baked a cobbler. Yes, yes I did. And it was delicious and now I have a tummy ache, because my mouth is basically a whore and my tummy is a nun. They fight. It’s not pretty.

That juicy cobbler in the second row, first picture? That’s it. There is no rolling out of crust or dough of any kind, It is easy peasy and delicious! We had it with Harney&Sons Paris Tea and it was a party in my mouth!

Momma’s Cobbler:

1 stick of butter ( don’t use fake butter)

3/4 cup of flour

Dash of salt

2 cups granulated sugar

2 cups of sliced peaches

2 tsp. Baking powder

3/4 cup of milk

*One thing I have changed about this recipe is I also toss in a few drops of Almond Extract. It’s a whole different experience!

First set the oven to 350 degrees. Plop that entire stick of butter in a glass baking dish and stick it in the oven to melt.

Take the peaches and mix 1 cup of the sugar and let them hang out for a few minutes

Now mix everything else together and whisk. It should be thin. Now, take that bubbly butter goodness out of the oven and pour the batter over it evenly. Now, be nice with the peaches and lay them across the batter. โ€‹DO. NOT. STIR. NO. NO. NO. ย Leave it in there for around an hour. When it’s not jiggly remove it and try not to burn your tongue!

You don’t stir it because the butter and the batter are magic and they combine and fold right over the fruits and Voila! A cobbler to die for! And I use this same recipe on Blueberries, Blackberries and I guess you could use most fruit.

Susan Furlong writes theย  Georgia Peach Mysteries, so check her out. I hope you enjoy !

xx Patricia

21 thoughts on “Peaches, Cobblers and Mysteries!

  1. iwannabealady says:

    I’ve never baked anything more complicated than cheesecake, which tells you something. But I’ve been wanting to start baking more and trying things from scratch. I may try this with my daughter. I love peach cobbler.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

