Grab a cup! It’s Going to get Weird!

This is what I call a working lunch. Nice cup of tea and a yummy salad. I can not even begin to tell you how glad I am that this month is over. The 28th especially. It was a year ago on that date that I woke up blind in one eye and started this year-long process of getting a new one. One of my favorite husbands died on the 28th. OU Boy hurt his back on the 28th. So much like the little boy in the park yesterday, I’m going to just start skipping that date. I refuse to acknowledge you so you do not exist. Β All in favor, take a shot of tea!

I do not like to watch kids movies. Except Coraline. And the one with the mouse singing Somewhere Out There. Or Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. But as part of our vacation package, I was obliged to watch 4 of them. I’m pretty sure the kids fell asleep out of boredom. Honestly by Day 3 I was just sitting on the sofa staring into space. We had swam, camped, hiked, golfed, pretended we were on Ninja Warrior, made cards, painted rocks until I couldn’t even think like a grown up anymore.

When did meal time become a negotiation? I’m quite sure my mother put the food on the table and we ate it. Or if it was liver, we at least hid it in a napkin! The 6-year-old is a great eater. She eats anything without complaint. The 4-year-old however wants to negotiate like a pirate. And every time I cave. It’s that little smile and those twinkling eyes, the same ones that get me at 2 a.m. when he wakes me up and asks if I was thinking about a snack too. Using his best British accent. Thanks for that Peppa Pig.

 Β  Who could say no to that face??

So if you are raising kids. I applaud you for not leaving them at the Fire Station. Boys, I can deal with, girls not so much. They talk constantly and I swear if I had to hear the word actually one more time, I was going to trade her to the gypsies for a new cooking pot.

xx Laugh! It takes years off of your face! Β Patricia

23 thoughts on “Grab a cup! It’s Going to get Weird!

  1. iwannabealady says:

    Hey, I’m glad that day is gone for you. My daughter eats most things but my son eats almost nothing and I’m not even sure how he manages to stay alive. Maybe he has expensive tastes? I’m giddy with happiness if I can just get him to put something into his mouth to try it. He’s 12. I keep telling him that our taste buds change over time and he’ll never know if he now likes something that he didn’t before.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anne Mehrling says:

    One of my children starts every fifth sentence saying, “Don’t get me wrong…”

    Another near and dear relative has the same pattern using the words, “No offense, but…”

    I’m to the point of wanting to take offense and get it wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. insearchofitall says:

    Yes, this did put a big smile on my face. First I want to ask who OU Boy is? Then I want to tell you that my daughter thanks me all the time for not flushing her. Her brother, I could have had 6 of, if she had been first, she would have been an only child. She ate virtually NOTHING! Drove her father crazy. My son ate small, often and most everything. The daughter finally grew out of it and now eats anything and the son is more fussy! WTH! No grand-kids so I didn’t have that experience. But with a face like your grandson’s, I might relent too. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

