I Will Always Try Again! Be Brave!

Good sunny Saturday to all of you people of the page! This morning has been a 3 cups of tea day so far. I woke up before normal human beings should ever do! And once I’m awake I can never go back to sleep.

With OU Boy being down with his back someone had to go to the market yesterday. Obviously I can’t drive yet so the deal was that he would drive and I would brave the market alone. A daunting task that my poor therapist has been preparing me for so I went. Actually inside. I’m going slowly down the aisles being careful not to whack myself with a cereal box or freeze to death in the ice cream aisle.

I was doing good. It took a lot for me to go in there alone with limited vision and my aversion to stores in general. All of a sudden….I felt a tap on my shoulder and immediately swung around in a defensive posture with my right hand ready to throat punch someone. And it was OU Boy. The poor lady in the freezer section had her mouth hanging open and her phone out when I explained the situation to her. We all laughed and OU Boy was just glad I didn’t have time to rip out a box cutter or two.

Point being, I was scared but I put one foot in front of the other and pretended I wasn’t. And it worked for me. That is the key. It worked for me. And later when I saw a post on 10 ways ( why is it always 10?) to beat Anxiety, in my head I’m saying “Shove that where the sun don’t shine, buddy!” Because while we all are lumped into the same Anxiety/Depression/PTSD label, our experiences are not one size fits all. What works for you may not work for me. My advice? Do what works for you. Create a world you feel safe in.

Be Brave!26779ed2ee79450750471ade26cc0e4d

9 thoughts on “I Will Always Try Again! Be Brave!

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Congratulations on making it through! For a few years after I was the victim of an armed robbery I was terrified to sit in a car outside any small store or gas station. It does take a lot to face the things that scare us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

