Little Old Lady Recipes by Meg Favreau

Image result for little old lady recipes

Simple, good and sassy! These ladies know how to bring the goods in the kitchen!

This little gem of a book is hilarious! Not only do these older (70 and up) share their recipes with us, they had me cracking up at the advice!

From homemade applesauce to pork chops and so many more. These are simple, tried and true dishes like the ones we used to look forward to whenever the church had any kind of potluck.

The beauty of the book is the photos of the ladies and a quote from each. Such as:

“We had to eat a lot of beans and greens, vegetables-that was during the depression. Mom made one thing and you didn’t get anything else. So you learned to like it.” Rita,80

“Club soda is a wonderful thing. You can use it to remove any stain, or mix it with gin and drink until you don’t care about the stain anymore.” Chastity, 72

“Butter comes from cows. Tell me where the heck margarine comes from, and then maybe I’ll eat it.” Phyllis, 72

” A grandmother isn’t the same thing as a restaurant. Shut up and eat the eggs.” Ruth, 77

And my all time fave! “The best thing I make is reservations.” Anna, 96

Image result for little old lady recipes  Image result for little old lady recipes

It is the sweetest book and I thank my own little old lady who gave it to me!

xx Patricia

13 thoughts on “Little Old Lady Recipes by Meg Favreau

  1. Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, MCC, SCAC says:

    Great review – sounds right up my alley. Before I stopped eating gluten I used to collect these adorable little cookbooks put together by womens’ groups for church and school fundraisers, etc. Some of them are truly excellent (like the River Road I and II cookbooks I bought “retail” to learn to cook New Orleans style when I lived there — I still refer to them from time to time, 30 years later).

    Others are filled by a slew of what I refer to as “jello recipes” – but each has a couple of goodies certainly worth the small sum I paid at a yard sale or resale shop. Each made me smile, and some made me laugh aloud.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD/EFD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

      • Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, MCC, SCAC says:

        Isn’t it amazing to discover how much we bloggers have in common? Many of my little cookbooks have more desserts than main dishes – lol – and a lot of things drenched in cream sauce from the Southern Ladies. I must have 20 different recipes for banana pudding, and at least 10 different versions of Mac ‘n Cheese, which I’ve never really liked since I was over-exposed as a child. Still, I love reading how the Ladies feed their families.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

